How do I manage my Buddy List settings in AOL 8.0?

Text Size


How do I manage my Buddy List settings in AOL 8.0?


There are many settings you can use on your AOL Buddy List that will give you more control over how your Buddy List displays, who can see you online, and how you see and hear your buddies when you are online. Also, with the settings available on your AOL Buddy List, you can protect the privacy and the security of yourself and anyone who uses your AOL account.

Get to Your Buddy List Settings

1. If your Buddy List window is not open, click the People menu, then click Buddy List.
2. Click Setup in the Buddy List window.
3. In the Buddy List Setup window, click Preferences to display the Buddy List Preferences window with three tabs across the top.
4. To turn a setting on, click the corresponding box to place a check mark in it. To turn a setting off, click the corresponding box to clear it.
5. After changing your settings, click Save or Apply.

FAQs

What is Buddy List Setup?
What is Buddy List Preferences?
What is Instant Messages Preferences?
What is Privacy Settings?

What is Buddy List Setup?

The Buddy List Setup window is the central location for all the controls in your Buddy List. The options in this window are:

  • Add Buddy: Opens the Add New Buddy window where you can enter a friend's screen name and add it to your Buddy List by clicking Save.
  • Add Group: Opens the Add New Group window where you can enter a new group name and add it to your Buddy List by clicking Save.
  • Remove: Allows you to remove a buddy or group name you have selected in the Buddy List view.
  • Rename: Allows you to rename a buddy or group name you have selected in the Buddy List view.
  • Return to Buddy List: Closes the Buddy List Setup window and returns you to the Buddy List.
  • Preferences: Opens the Buddy List Preferences window where you will see three tabs indicating separate groups of settings you can change. See below to learn how to use the functions in this window.

Back to FAQs

What is Buddy List Preferences?

The Buddy List Preferences window allows you to control the most general settings of your Buddy List. On this tab, you will find

  • Show me my Buddy List at sign on: This shows your Buddy List automatically when you sign-on. To turn this setting off, click the show me my Buddy List at sign on box to clear it. You can re-open your Buddy List at any time by using the directions listed above.
  • Allow other members to see that I am idle: Displays a small notepad symbol next to your screen name on a buddy's list to show that you are idle.
  • Allow other members to see that I am using a mobile device: Displays a phone icon next to your name on a friend's Buddy List to show that you are using a mobile device.
  • Play sound when buddies sign-on: Plays a sound when a buddy signs onto the AOL service or the AIM service.
  • Play sound when buddies sign-off: Plays a sound when a buddy signs off of the AOL service or the AIM service.
  • Go to Sound Library: Opens a new window which explains how to download and use sounds other than the standard AOL sounds for your Buddy List and IMs.

Back to FAQs

What is Instant Messages Preferences?

The Instant Messages Preferences tab will allow you to choose how your IMs look. The settings under this tab include

  • Display timestamp on Instant Messages: Marks the time an IM is sent or received in the IM window.
  • Display smilies as art: Displays smilies you send in an IM as a picture rather than as text.
  • Display icons from AOL members: Displays other AOL members' Buddy icons when you IM them.
  • Use my Address Book to auto-suggest screen names: Lists screen names as you type them to allow you to choose the screen name you wish to send an IM to.
  • Select the icon you want displayed on IMs you send to others: This allows you to select any Buddy icon you wish from the list provided. This icon will display on your buddy's IM window when they receive an IM from you.

Back to FAQs

What is Privacy Settings?

The Privacy tab allows you to decide who can see or contact you when you're online. The settings under this tab are

1. Choose Your Privacy Preferences

  • Allow ALL: Allows all IMs received to display on your screen whether the sender is on your Buddy List or not.
  • Allow only the people on my Buddy List, but block everyone else: Only accepts IMs from people you list on your Buddy List.
  • Allow only the people that I list on the right, but block everyone else: This only allows those people you list screen names for on the right. Enter a screen name in the Type screen name here box and click the Add button to add a buddy to this list of people you wish to accept IMs from.
  • Block only the people I list on the right: This only blocks IMs from the people you list screen names for on the right. Enter a screen name you wish to block the same way as described above.
  • Block only AOL Instant Messenger users: Blocks all IMs from anyone using the AIM service instead of the AOL service.
  • Block ALL: Blocks IMs from everyone, whether they are listed on your Buddy List or not.

2. People I've blocked in the above preference are not allowed to...

  • View me on their Buddy List: Applies any settings you have chosen to the Buddy List.
  • View me on their Buddy List or send me Instant Messages : Applies any settings you have chosen to the Buddy List and to your Instant Messages.



Related Articles:


Choose your own IM and Buddy List sounds
Manage my Buddy List groups
How do I control who can see me on their Buddy List window?

About this article:
Last updated: 06-10-2014
© 2013 AOL Inc.