My Advanced Mail Settings in AOL 9.0

Text Size


My Advanced Mail Settings in AOL 9.0

The Advanced tab on your AOL Mail Settings includes additional customization options for your mailbox and email. The Mail Settings feature can be accessed even when you are not connected to the AOL service.

FAQs

Access the Mail Settings Advanced Tab
Header Information
Play Sound When New Mail Is Delivered
Show Addresses as Buddy Info Links
Display Next Message When Current Message Is Deleted
Present Picture Quality Options When Inserting Pictures
Close Mail After It Has Been Sent
Confirm When Mail Is Marked to Send Later
Remind Me at Sign On If I have Mail Waiting to Be Sent
Retain All Embedded Images in Read Mail
Use My Address Book and Buddy List to Auto-suggest Names When Sending emails

Access the Mail Settings Advanced Tab

1. Click the Mail menu, and then click Mail Settings.

2. Click the Advanced tab to choose your email preferences.

Notes:
  • To enable a feature click the box to place a check mark in it.
  • To disable a feature click the box to clear it.

3. Click the Save button.

Back to FAQs

Header Information

The header on your email contains the subject line of the email, the date the email was sent, and the email addresses of the sender and the recipients. It also informs about the version of AOL software used to send the email, or whether the email was sent from an Internet email address. You can change the way the email header is displayed, by choosing one of the following options:

  • Always minimize headers: The email headers will be minimized. They will not be displayed unless you open them by clicking the arrow pointing downwards.
  • Always minimize headers when I scroll: The email headers will be displayed when you first open the email, but will minimize as you scroll through the message to give more room for the email message to display.
  • Never minimize headers: The email headers will always be displayed at the top of your email window.

Play Sound When New Mail Is Delivered

You will hear an audio alert (if your speakers are turned on) informing you about any new email, even though you have other unread email.

Show Addresses as Buddy Info Links

A Buddy icon will appear next to the screen name of each AOL member or AIM user who is signed on at the time you are reading an email containing their screen name in the header. Clicking one of these screen name links will open the profile for that AOL or AIM user.

If this option is disabled, clicking the screen name link in the email header will open a new Write Mail window with the email address listed in the Send To: box.

Back to FAQs

Display Next Message When Current Message Is Deleted

When reading an email, if you click the Delete button, the next message in your mailbox list opens automatically.

If you disable this option, when you click the Delete button, the email window will close and you will return to your mailbox.

Present Picture Quality Options When Inserting Pictures

As you insert a picture into an email, you will receive a message asking you to choose the quality of the picture you wish to send. The Full option will retain the file size but may take longer to send, while the Optimized option will reduce the file size, making it faster to send.

If this option is disabled, the Optimized option will be the default picture quality.

Close Mail After It Has Been Sent

When you send an email, the Write Mail window will automatically close.

If this option is disabled, the Write Mail window will remain open even after the mail has been sent.

To know how to enable or disable this feature refer to our online article: Automatically close Write Mail window after the email has been sent.

Back to FAQs

Confirm When Mail Is Marked to Send Later

When you schedule an email to be sent later, you will receive a message asking you to confirm if you want to move the email to the Mail Waiting To Be Sent folder.

If this option is disabled, when you choose to send an email later, the email will be automatically moved to your Mail Waiting To Be Sent folder.

Remind Me at Sign On If I Have Mail Waiting to Be Sent

When you sign on, you will receive a message reminding you that you have mail in your Mail Waiting To Be Sent folder.

If this option is disabled, you will not receive a reminder at sign on, even if you have mail in your Mail Waiting To Be Sent folder.

Retain All Embedded Images in Read Mail

All embedded images in the email you read are stored in separate AOL-specific sub folder within your My Pictures folder. This is located in the My Documents area on your computer's hard drive.

Use My Address Book and Buddy List to Auto-suggest Names When Sending emails

When you enter the first few letters of an email address in the Send To: or Copy To: boxes, you will see a Suggestions: box listing related email addresses from your Buddy List window or AOL address book. You can choose the email address you want from this list by clicking it.

If this option is disabled, you will not get the Suggestions: box to select an email address.

Back to Top




Related Articles:


Add pictures to email
My General Mail settings in AOL 9.0

About this article:
Last updated: 03-05-2012
© 2013 AOL Inc.