Why do some AOL login screens include Facebook, Google and other OpenID options?

Text Size


Why do some AOL login screens include Facebook, Google and other OpenID options?

AOL is always looking for ways to enhance, expand and simplify access to its websites. A new user login experience is being used across AOL sites. This will allow users to log in with not only their AOL or AIM Username but also with their Facebook, Google, Yahoo or Twitter account. This new login experience will allow users to use other frequently used accounts to easily access AOL content or leave comments on AOL websites.

FAQs


How does this experience work?

This new login experience applies your existing relationship with another online product so you no longer need to go through the AOL registration process to experience the full capabilities of AOL websites. This login option, which supports third-party account credentials, may be presented to you as a secure browser pop-up or within an existing AOL login page.

From the login user experiences presented above, you can choose to log in using your AOL Username and password or using an account you already have with another identity provider such as Facebook, Yahoo, or Google, etc.

For example:

If you select the Facebook option, you will be directed to Facebook to login where you would submit your Facebook Username and password. Facebook, not AOL, verifies your username and password. AOL will not be given your password information, and Facebook simply tells AOL whether the Username-password combination is correct or not. Once signed in and verified, Facebook will send you back to the site you were originally signing in to, where you will be signed in.

To sign on to an AOL property:

Note: The instructions to sign on to an AOL property may differ depending on the third-party service provider you select.

1. Click the Authentication option of your choice.

 

Note: If logging in with a property other than AOL or AIM, please wait to be redirected to the property's log in page.

2. Enter the Username and password for the application, and then click Sign In.

Note: If you want AOL properties to always use Google to authenticate you, check the Stay signed in check box.

3. Click Allow to approve the authentication of your third-party username and password.

Note: If you don't want to be prompted with the screen given below every time you sign on to an AOL property, check the Remember this approval check box.

Do I need to allow or turn off my pop-up blocker?

Unless you have set your browser to a very high level of security, you shouldn’t have to change your pop-up blocker settings. Pop-up blockers are normally set to block sites from automatically launching pop-ups when you visit the site. In the case of the new login experience, a user is manually choosing to open the pop-up by selecting the sign-in button. Remember, for added security, the pop-up opened by the new login experience shows the address bar information, so you can verify that the login page is secure by checking the URL displayed in the address bar.

What happens when I log out after logging in with one of the third-party options?

When you log out of or close an AOL website that was authenticated using the new login experience, you will be logged out of the AOL property and any other AOL properties that you may have been logged into. This will not affect your current experience on the third-party website.

For example:
If you choose to sign on to an AOL property using your Facebook account, and then decide to close or sign off from the AOL website, you will remain logged in to Facebook.



About this article:
Last updated: 06-19-2014
© 2013 AOL Inc.