Run Quick Restore

Text Size


Run Quick Restore

The Quick Restore feature resets the AOL Desktop Software to its default settings by deleting all updates downloaded in the past. It can help resolve issues that you may have with AOL Desktop without having to reinstall the software. Once Quick Restore is completed, you will receive a series of TOD updates for the AOL software. To learn more about TOD updates, please refer our help article on the AOL TOD update.

Notes:

IMPORTANT: Ensure that you remember your AOL password, as running Quick Restore will delete it from the AOL Desktop. If you don’t remember your password, we recommend that you reset it before you proceed. For this, you need to remember the answer to your Account Security Question (ASQ); however, you can change your ASQ if you don’t remember the answer to it. For instructions on how to change your password or ASQ, refer to the following help articles:

The steps to run Quick Restore may differ depending on the version of AOL Connectivity Service (ACS) installed on your computer. To find the version of ACS installed on your computer, follow the instructions given in our help article How do I determine the version of AOL Connectivity Service (ACS) I have?

Please click the one of the following link corresponding to the version of ACS installed on your computer for instructions to run Quick Restore.





About this article:
Last updated: 04-18-2012
© 2010 AOL Inc.