I get signed off from AOL Mail once I close my browser

Text Size


I get signed off from AOL Mail once I close my browser

You may get signed off your AOL account once you close your browser even though you have selected the Remember Me option while signing on. It is possible that your browsers settings prompt the browser to clear the cookies once it closes. Given below are solutions to disable the settings that automatically clear cookies once the browser is closed. Select the browser that you are using and proceed with the instructions given.

Internet Explorer
Mozilla Firefox

Internet Explorer

Internet Explorer 8.0
1. Sign out of your AOL account and close all browser windows.
2. Start Internet Explorer as you normally would.
3. Click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options.
4. In the Browsing history section, ensure that the Delete browsing history on exit check box is cleared.
5. Click OK.
6. Close Internet Explorer, start it again, and then sign on to AOL with the Remember Me check box selected.

Mozilla Firefox

Firefox 3.5 for Windows
1. Sign out of your AOL account and close all browser windows.
2. Start Firefox as you normally would.
3. Click the Tools menu, and then click Options.
4. Click the Privacy icon on the top.
5. Click the Firefox will drop-down menu, and then click Use custom settings for history.
6. Ensure that Accept cookies from sites is selected.
7. Ensure that Accept third-party cookies is selected.
8. Click the Keep until drop-down menu, and then click they expire.
9. Click the Clear history when Firefox closes check box to clear it.
10. Click OK.
11. Close Firefox, start it again, and then sign on to AOL with the Remember Me check box selected.

Firefox 3.0 for Windows
1. Sign out of your AOL account and close all browser windows.
2. Start Firefox as you normally would.
3. Click the Tools menu, and then click Options.
4. Click the Privacy icon on the top.
5. In the Cookies section, ensure that the Accept cookies from sites check box is selected.
6. Ensure that the Accept third-party cookies check box is selected.
7. Click the Keep until drop-down menu, and then click they expire.
8. In the Private Data section, click the Always clear my private data when I close Firefox check box to clear it.
9. Click OK.
10. Close Firefox, start it again, and then sign on to AOL with the Remember Me check box selected.

In Firefox 3.5 for Mac
1. Sign out of your AOL account and close all browser windows.
2. Start Firefox as you normally would.
3. Click the Firefox menu, and then click Preferences.
4. Click the Privacy icon on the top.
5. Click the Firefox will drop-down menu, and then click Use custom settings for history.
6. Ensure that Accept cookies from sites is selected.
7. Ensure that Accept third-party cookies is selected.
8. Click the Keep until drop-down menu, and then click they expire.
9. Click the Clear history when Firefox closes check box to clear it.
10. Click the red dot on the top left to close the window.
11. Close Firefox, start it again, and then sign on to AOL with the Remember Me check box selected.






About this article:
Last updated: 08-31-2012
© 2010 AOL Inc.