Here's a quick look at the storage limits and how long messages are stored in your AOL Mail inbox.
remember that your emails will be permanently deleted and cannot be
retrieved if your account is inactive. To keep your account active, you
need to sign in to AOL Mail with your username and password at least
once every 90 days.
|Folder||Storage Limits and Timelines|
|Inbox||Emails will remain in your Inbox folder until you delete them (even the emails that you've read).|
|Sent||Sent emails will remain in your Sent folder until you delete them.|
|Spam||Emails in your Spam folder will be automatically deleted after 5 days. |
|Recently Deleted or Trash||Emails you delete may be deleted immediately or may remain in your Recently Deleted or Trash folder for up to 7 days.|
|My Folders||Emails saved to any of the sub-folders in your My Folders mail folder will never be deleted until you delete them.|
AOL Desktop Software storage limits:
- If you're using the AOL Desktop Software, and have over 5,000
emails, you'll only see the most recent 5,000 messages. To see more than
the most recent 5,000 emails, please open a web browser and sign in to
your mail at mail.aol.com.
- The number of emails that can be saved to the Saved on My PC folder and its sub-folders is only limited by the space available on your hard disk.
- You can create up to 252 personal folders using the AOL Desktop Software.