What happens to my billing when canceling my AOL Plan?

Text Size


What happens to my billing when canceling my AOL Plan?

Interested in changing your plan? Well, before you decide, make sure you consider your options. If you don't want to pay anymore – or you want to pay less – but still want to remain a member of the AOL family, you can always change your plan to a different subscription or to a free AOL account.

IMPORTANT: If you cancel your AOL account but are still subscribed to AOL services, the payment method on file will continue to be charged. You must cancel all AOL services as well as your AOL account.

Some important things to keep in mind before canceling:

  • You must cancel your billing and convert to a free AOL account in order to cancel your paid account.
  • If you want to cancel your free account, read the article How do I cancel my free AOL account?
  • If you cancel in the middle of your billing cycle, you’ll have access to the service until the end of the cycle because payments are made a month in advance.
  • If you subscribe to any AOL Premium Service, you must cancel your subscriptions to those services before canceling your AOL account.
  • AOL reserves the right to charge and collect any fees, surcharges or costs incurred before your cancellation takes effect.

To change your AOL plan:

1. Go to My Account and sign in with your master Username and password.

2. Type the answer to your Account Security Question and click Continue.

3. Under Service Options, click Change my AOL Plan.

 

4. Indicate whether you need a dial-up connection or already have a high-speed internet connection by selecting the corresponding circle. Then click View Plans.

 

5. The first plan listed is your current plan. Below that are the plans AOL recommends if you decide to switch, followed by other available plans. Make your selection by clicking Get This Plan below your choice.

Take note of the benefits you might lose if you choose a smaller plan. If you're satisfied with your choice, click the Yes button to switch to your new plan.

Note: If you change your mind and don’t want to choose a different Plan, click Keep My Plan.

Your new AOL Plan will not go into effect until your next billing day (after all, you’ve already paid for this month).

For more information on viewing or updating billing and payment methods, visit What is My Account or Change your payment method.



About this article:
Last updated: 03-11-2012
© 2013 AOL Inc.