General Usernames FAQs

Text Size


Frequently asked questions about General Usernames

IMPORTANT: AOL Screen Name is now known as AOL Username. You may still see Screen Name at some places as we are in the process of changing it across AOL. Please bear with us.

Want to learn more about what General Usernames are able to do? Not to worry. We have compiled a general list of frequently asked questions. If you have any further questions or need additional help regarding General Usernames, visit AOL Help.

Frequently asked questions

Will a General Username be able to use cards on file for other Usernames?

No. General Usernames will not have the ability to use or apply a card on file of any other Username tied to the account to their own account. Once the General user has a card(s) on file, they will only be able to switch between the instruments they own.


What are General Usernames allowed to do in My Account?

General Usernames will be allowed to go to myaccount.aol.com and view and manage their Lifestore product. This includes activating, canceling, resending confirmation emails and managing their wallet and billing information.

Note: If a Master or Designated Master Username resends a confirmation email for a subscription purchased by a General user, the email will only go to the General Username who originally purchased the subscription. If a General user attempts to resend a confirmation email for a Master or Designated Master Username subscription, the confirmation email will only go to the Username who originally purchased the subscription.


Will General Usernames be able to manage Lifestore products?

Yes; however, General Usernames will not be allowed to manage Lifestore products tied to other Usernames on the account. They will only be able to view subscriptions owned by other users on the same AOL account.


What happens if a Master or Designated Master Username attempts to delete a General Username that has active subscriptions?

If a Master or Designated Master Username attempts to delete a General Username while there are active Lifestore subscriptions, in good state, a message will alert and stop the deletion.

Active subscriptions against General Usernames must be canceled prior to the deletion of the General Username.


Will the Master or Designated Master’s method of payment be affected if something happens with a General Usernames’ method of payment?

In case of a billing failure on a General Username, the General Username can update their method of payment and it will not affect any method of payments for the Master or Designated Master on the account. Billing updates do not move between Usernames. For example, if a General Username makes a billing change, it does not change the Master or Designated Master’s billing.

Note: If you have two Usernames that use the same credit card and a user goes in to one account to update the credit card number, the change will not flow over to the other Username, even if the card numbers are the same.


What happens if a General Username has been downgraded?

If user has been demoted, edit functionality will be blocked if a purchase was made prior to demotion or card is in an “unverified” state. General demoted users will not have the ability to update name, billing address, or expiration date if the card being billed is from the ISP account.



About this article:
Last updated: 06-10-2014
© 2013 AOL Inc.