The Reply button in the AOL software appears grayed out

Text Size


The Reply button in the AOL software appears grayed out

If you see that the Reply button in the AOL software appears grayed out, try the solutions given below to resolve the issue. After trying the first solution, check whether the issue is resolved. If the Reply button still appears grayed out, continue using the suggested solutions until the problem is fixed.

You may wish to print or save a copy of these instructions, as this page may not remain visible as you go through the suggested steps.

Information you need

You will need to know the version of the Microsoft Windows operating system installed on your computer. You can find this information by following the instructions given in the online help article How do I determine the version of Windows I have?

Solutions


Clear AOL Artwork Database

After some time, the amount of stored artwork on your computer can reduce the efficiency of the AOL software. You can delete the artwork by resetting the amount of space AOL uses to store online art.

Please click the link corresponding to the version of AOL installed on your computer for instructions on how to clear AOL Artwork Database.


Run Quick Restore

Note: Please close the AOL software before running Quick Restore.

The Quick Restore feature allows you to reset the AOL software to the default state by deleting all the updates downloaded in the past. It can help resolve issues that you may have with your AOL software without having to reinstall the software.

Once Quick Restore is completed, you may receive a series of AOL software updates, also known as AOL TOD (Tools on Demand) updates. For more information, read our online help article AOL TOD update.

The instructions to run Quick Restore may differ depending on the version of ACS installed on your computer. Click the appropriate link from the ones given below for instructions to run Quick Restore.

Notes: If you are using AOL Desktop v10.1, skip to the next solution. If you are using AOL 8.0 Plus or lower, go to Clear AOL Artwork Database.


Uninstall and reinstall the AOL software

If the issue persists, we recommend that you uninstall and reinstall the AOL software. Uninstalling the AOL software removes all damaged and non-repairable files. Once the uninstallation is complete, reinstalling a new copy of the AOL software is quick and easy. Uninstalling the AOL software removes all screen names and settings associated with it. However, your Filing Cabinet files will automatically be stored on the desktop in a folder named Saved on AOL.

Important: If you have saved your AOL password on the AOL software, ensure that you remember your password before you uninstall the AOL software because uninstalling the software will delete your saved password. If you don’t remember your password, we recommend that you change your password before proceeding any further. You will also need to remember the answer to your Account Security Question (ASQ) to be able to change your password. You can change your ASQ if you don’t remember the answer to it. For instructions on how to change your password or ASQ, refer to the following online help articles:

Please click the link corresponding to the version of Windows on your computer for instructions to uninstall the AOL software.

Note: If you are unable to uninstall the AOL software, visit our online help article Can't uninstall the AOL software for more information.

Back to Top




About this article:
Last updated: 09-12-2011
© 2010 AOL Inc.