Manage the privacy of your AIM account. Select the version of AIM you're using from the ones below to expand more information.

AIM 8 for Windows & Mac

How do I take my conversations off the record?

When you take a conversation off the record, that means it is not stored for you or for the person you are having a conversation with.

Other items to consider when using off the record:

  • Any conversation you take off the record will stay off the record for the duration of your conversation. If you sign on, and sign off, the conversation will stay off the record until you choose to take it back on the record.
  • When you chat with someone on AIM 8 and go off the record, they'll receive a notification when the chat goes off the record, as well as when it goes back on the record.
  • For now, you'll have to manually select each conversation that you want off the record.

To take a conversation off the record follow the steps below:

  1. Within an ongoing chat window, click the Additional Options drop-down menu and then select Go Off the Record.

  2. When you are Off the Record, you can tell because your chat window will state that you are. Any messages exchanged while you are off the record will not be saved.

  3. To return to chat as normal, click the Additional Options drop-down menu and then select Go On the Record.

How do I block or unblock someone?

If you ever need to block a contact on AIM, simply follow the instructions below:

  1. Within an ongoing chat window, click the Additional Options drop-down menu and select Block This Person.

  2. If prompted with a popup window, confirm that you want to block the username.
  3. To unblock someone, open a chat with the person, click the Additional Options drop-down menu and then select Unblock This Person.

How do I clear message history?

If you want to clear chat history for a conversation follow the instructions below:

Note: This will not clear chat history on the other user's AIM client. It will only clear the chat history stored on your own AIM window.

  1. Start a chat with the person you want to a delete chat history with.
  2. Click the Additional Options drop-down menu in the top right corner of the chat window and select Clear Chat History.

  3. Click Yes to confirm.

What is message syncing?

AIM 8 for Windows logs and stores your conversation history (up to a month’s worth) whenever you chat with other people who are also using AIM 8. This allows us to sync your messages across devices. If the other person you’re talking to is using an older version of AIM, or a third-party client, we only store the conversation in the location you’re using it. Your conversation history with those people won’t be available if you switch to AIM desktop from AIM mobile, for example.

AIM.com

AIM.com has privacy options available to you to delete your history if you chose to do so, block users, and manage other settings.

Click a heading below to expand to learn more about these options.

How do I access my privacy options in AIM.com?

From here, you can view all your Privacy options and manage your settings.

  1. In the top right corner of your AIM.com window, click Settings.
  2. Select Privacy from the menu on the left.

How do I use off the record?

Using Off the Record means that your chat history and messages will not be saved. You'll need to select this option per conversation that you want off the record.

 
  1. Start a chat with your contact.
  2. Open the drop-down menu in the upper right corner of the chat window.
  3. Click Go Off the Record.

    To confirm that your messages are off the record, your IM window will show, "You’re off the record. These messages will not be saved."

  4. To return to chat as normal, go to the same drop-down menu and click Go On the Record.

More about Off the Record…

  • How does off the record work?

    When you take a conversation off the record, that means it is not stored for you or for the person you are having a conversation with.

  • If I go off the record with Person A, do I still need to go off the record when I initiate a conversation with Person B?

    Yes, you have to choose to go off the record for each conversation you want to take off the record.

  • How long am I able to stay off the record?

    Any conversation you take off the record will stay off the record for the duration of your conversation. If you sign on, and sign off, the conversation will still be off the record until you choose to take it back on the record.

  • Does my conversation partner know when I go off the record?

    When you chat with someone on AIM.com and go off the record, they'll receive a notification when the chat goes off the record, as well as when it goes back on the record.

  • Is there a way to globally set all of my conversations to off the record?

    We're planning to add the ability to have a global off the record setting, rather than just making it a chat-by-chat selection. However, it is not available at this time. Stay tuned!

How do I block or unblock someone?

To block someone…

This person will now show in your Block List in your Privacy Settings.

  1. Select the chat or buddy that you want to block.
  2. In the upper right corner, open the drop-down menu.
  3. Click Block This Person.

To unblock someone…

You will now be able to chat with this user.

  1. Access your AIM.com Settings from the top right corner of your browser window.
  2. Select Privacy from the menu on the left.
  3. Within your Block List, click Unblock next to the user that you want to unblock.

What is message storage in AIM.com?

AIM.com logs and stores your conversation history (a month’s worth) whenever you chat with other people also using AIM. This allows us to sync your messages across devices. If the other person you are talking to is using an older version of AIM, or a third-party client, we only cache the conversation in the location you're using it. Your conversation history with those people won’t be available if you switch to AIM desktop from AIM mobile, for example.

Are messages synced for Google chat accounts too?

  • Google: Google saves the other person’s side of the conversation, so when you return to a chat with a Google contact, you may see the other person’s messages but not your own.

How do I clear message history?

You can delete message history with another user, however, once a conversation is stored, you'll only be able to clear what shows in your AIM history. You will not be able to clear your contact's record of the conversation.

 
  1. Start or open the chat with the person whose history you want to delete.
  2. Open the drop-down menu in the upper right corner of the chat window.
  3. Click Clear Chat History.

  4. Click Yes, clear chat history.