Keep your mailbox active

AOL Mail maintains the content of your mailbox as long as it remains active. Sign in to your mailbox at least once every 12 months to keep it active. Content deleted from an inactive mailbox can't be restored. To preserve your mailbox:

Subscribe to Extended AOL Mail - Rest easy knowing that all your emails, along with the files and photos attached to them, will not be purged from your email account due to inactivity*. With Extended AOL Mail, you can sign up for just $1/month (billed annually) and never worry about having to log back into your AOL account again. Get started with Extended AOL Mail today.

Tip icon.Not available in all locales - If the option isn't listed in your account, it's not available at this time. View our Terms of Service in your region.


Reclaim an inactive mailbox

An inactive mailbox can be recovered by signing in to it. This action only reclaims the email address, not the original contents of the mailbox. Custom mailbox settings created before an account became inactive need to be created again.

*Subject to storage limits, spam and email abuse policies and future changes in the storage policy.