Reasons AOL deactivates or deletes an account
Find out more about why your AOL account may have been deactivated or deleted.
It may be possible for your AOL account to be removed or become inaccessible, depending on a variety of circumstances. If this happens, you can create a new AOL account. However, your old username won't be available for you to use again.
The following actions can result in an account being deleted:
• You requested your account be deleted.
• You didn't sign in to your account in the past 12 months.
• Your account was used in a way that violates our Terms of Service.
Use the account recovery flow to confirm if your account was deleted - If your account doesn't exist anymore, you'll get a prompt indicating it has either been deactivated or that you can't reset your password online.